State finalizes committee that will draft rules for medical marijuana shops

oregon cannabis hbtv hemp beach tvA 13-member committee that includes a lobbyist, lawmakers, police and advocates will craft rules for new medical marijuana retails.

Serving on the committee are: Lincoln County District Attorney Rob Bovett; Rep. Peter Buckley, D-Ashland, who sponsored House Bill 3460; Noel Bullock, a Salem dispensary owner; Yamhill County Sheriff Jack Crabtree; Todd Dalotto, chairman of the Advisory Committee on Medical Marijuana; Anthony Johnson, a medical marijuana advocate; Amy Margolis, an attorney; Rep. Andy Olson, Albany-R; Sen. Floyd Prozanski, D-Eugene; John Sassaman, the Corvallis police chief; Paul Schmidt, a retired U.S. Drug Enforcement Administration official who worked for the Colorado medical marijuana enforcement division; Gary Schnable, executive director of the Oregon Board of Pharmacy and Geoff Sugerman, a lobbyist who helped draft the law.

The committee’s membership was picked by Tom Burns, who oversees the state’s pharmaceutical drug programs.

Gov. John Kitzhaber, in his signing letter, urged Bruce Goldberg, the Oregon Health Authority director, to include law enforcement officials on the rules committee.

The committee will hold its first meeting at 9 a.m. Sept. 20. The health authority said the process for drafting the rules will be “open and transparent” and will include a public comment period.

VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: 10.0/10 (1 vote cast)
VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: +1 (from 1 vote)
State finalizes committee that will draft rules for medical marijuana shops, 10.0 out of 10 based on 1 rating

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.